KP Sharma Oli: New PM of Nepal

In a long-delayed democratic transfer of power, Nepal got its 41st Prime Minister Khadga Prasad Sharma Oli. KP Oli as he is often known hails from the Communist Party of Nepal and he has succeeded Sher Bahadur Deuba from Nepali Congress Party.

Oli was administered the oath of office at Sheetal Niwas by the President Bidya Devi Bhandari within a few hours of his appointment to the topmost post.

Sher Bahadur Deuba had stepped down after the victory of the alliance of the communist parties in provincial elections. Oli had served as the Prime Minister from October 2015 to August 2016 and thus this will be his second term at the helm.

Oli became the member of Nepal Communist Party in 1970 and began an underground life due to the crackdown of the royal rulers on communists. He also completed a sentence of 14 years in jail during the rule of the monarch for his part in radical communist politics. Oli had won the elections for Parliament in 1991, 1999, 2008 and 2013. He was the Home Minister in 1994 and the Foreign Minister in 2007. It was in 2014 that he was elected as the Chairman of the Party.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: