Cyril Ramaphosa: New President of South Africa

Cyril Ramaphosa has been sworn in as the new President of South Africa in a highly ceremonial election as there were no other candidates were put forward to contest. The swearing-in took place in less than 24 hours of the resignation of the former President Jacob Zuma who had to step down after 9 years of rule due to multiple corruption charges against him.

However, the primary opposition parties of South Africa namely the Democratic Alliance and the Economic Freedom Fighters did not vote for Cyril Ramaphosa who was the Deputy President under Zuma. EFF staged a walkout from the Parliament as the proceedings began and called for fresh elections. Ramaphosa however, in his address vowed to work with the opposition while he completes the term of his predecessor. He acknowledged to tackle corruption during his tenure and will also ensure his accountability to the Parliament.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: